Documentary Film Competition Jury

CHRISTIAN FREI
Switzerland
 
Christian Frei was born in 1959 in Schönenwerd (Switzerland). He studied at the Department of Journalism and Communications of the University of Fribourg. In 1981 he directed his first documentary short film. From the very start of his career, he established a reputation as an exacting documentarist, with a perfect grasp of his subjects. His films are considered to be humanistic and universal, as much as subtle and insistent. In 1997 he presented his first feature-length documentary «Ricardo, Miriam y Fidel». With this striking portrait of a Cuban father and his daughter, torn between faith in the revolutionary ideas and the desire to emigrate to the United States, Christian Frei takes a critical look at Cuban society. Carefully avoiding taking sides, he leaves it up to the spectator to form his own opinion. «War Photographer» marks a turning point in his career as director in 2001. The Oscar nomination for Best Documentary and numerous prizes worldwide led to his international break through. Christian Frei spent two years accompanying war photographer James Nachtwey to different war zones around the world. Still popular with audiences and critics today, the film has become a classic. With «The Giant Buddhas», Christian Frei once again deals with a subject of strong political and global interest: The film revolves around the destruction of the two giant Buddha statues in Afghanistan’s remote Bamiyan Valley. «I see my film as a hymn to the diversity of opinion, reli-gion and culture», says Christian Frei. At the Sundance Film Festival in 2010 Christian Frei won the «World Cinema Directing Award» for «Space Tourists» (2009). Critics acclaimed this film for its breathtaking imagery and richness of insights, having strengthened Frei’s reputation as one of today’s most original and innovative directors. In 2014, Sleepless in New York» premiered in competition at Visions du Réel, the Nyon International Documentary Film Festival. Frei dives into the frenzied nights of three newly rejected. Helen Fisher, an American biological anthropologist, reveals the astounding and profound processes that unfold in the brain of the lovesick. As producer, Christian Frei releases Raving Iran (2016), the first feature length documentary directed by Susanne Regina Meures. She follows two Tehran DJs performing on illegal par-ties and planning to leave Iran. The film won awards at numerous film festivals. Currently, Frei is finishing a new project titled «Genesis 2.0» – in collaboration with Yakutian filmmaker Maxim Arbugaev. The documentary will look at mammoth hunters and geneticists. Since 2006, Christian Frei has been an associate lecturer on Reflection Competence at the renowned University of St.Gallen. Since August 2010 he is president of the Swiss Film Academy.
 
 

ALEXEY KHANYUTIN
Russia
 
Alexey Khanyutin was born in Moscow in 1956. In 1978 he graduated from the directing department of VGIK (Roman Karmen’s workshop). After an unsuccessful debut on Soviet television (the first film there was crippled by censorship) he started his the post-graduate course at the Institute of the History of Arts, where he completed his PhD dissertation and for a number of years worked as a research fellow.In the years of Perestroika he decided to return to directing. He worked at the Central Documentary Film Studio, where he made films The «Spot» (1987) and «DMB-91» (1990), which had a great public response an won awards at many major film festivals. He started his pedagogical activity in the mid-90s: he taught directing at the Higher Courses for Screenwriters and Directors, at the Internews Documentary Film School, and directed a workshop at VGIK. Currently he is the head of the Faculty of Film and Television Directing at the Institute of Contemporary Art, Moscow, and the Artistic Director of the film studio Parallax Pictures. In 2002-2005 was the President, currently the vice-president of the Russian Documentary Film and Television Guild. Among his prominent works are «Mausoleum» (1995), «Sarcophagus» (2001), «Vodka» (2005), «Evacuation» (2005), «Road» (2007), «Return of names» (2013).
 
 

 

YUN JERO
Republic of Korea
 
Born in Busan, Korea in 1980. After studying at Busan Design High school, he began to study classic Art at University in 1998. In 2001, he arrived in France, continued his studies in Beaux-arts de Nancy (Fine Art school) and then, in ENSAD (Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Paris) where he studied classic cinema and documentary. In 2008,he entered at Le Fresnoy where he directed a Middlelength feature film «In the Dark», shot in Korea and a short film «Red Road» selected in several international festivals: Molodist Kyiv, Interfilm Berlin, Bucharest, Amiens etc. In 2011, he won the Grand Prize at Asiana International Short Film Festival (Korea) with his short film «Propmise». In 2012, he was selected for Cannes Film Festival Residency (Cinefondation). there, he wrote feature film (fiction) projects. His 1st documentary «Looking for North Koreans» was awarded the Jury Special mention in Cinema Planeta (Mexico) in 2013 and selected in the Hamburg Film Festival (Nominated Best Political Documentary), and Jihlava (Nominated Best World Documentary). His documentary «Mrs B. a North Korean Woman» coproduced by France and Republic of Korea, was awarded Best Documentary in Moscow IFF.

Жюри документального конкурса

КРИСТИАН ФРАЙ
Швейцария
 
Кристиан Фрай родился в 1959 году в Шёненверде (Швейцария), учился на факультете журналистики и коммуникаций Фрибургского университета. В 1981 году снял свою первую документальную короткометражку. C самого начала Фрай приобрел репутацию тонкого, наблюдательного и требовательного к себе документалиста, умеющего проникнуть в суть затронутой темы. В 1997 году он снял на Кубе свой первый полнометражный документальный фильм «Рикардо,Мириам и Фидель», яркий портрет отца и дочери, которая разрывается между верой в революционные идеалы и желанием эмигрировать в США. Фрай критически смотрит на кубинское общество, но оставляет выбор зрителю, чтобы тот мог сформировать собственное мнение. Военный фотограф (2001), номинированный на «Оскар» и получивший многочисленные призы во всем мире, стал переломным моментом в его карьере. Кристиан Фрай два года снимал военного фотокорреспондента Джеймса Нахтвея в местах военных конфликтов по всему миру. Сегодня этот по-прежнему популярный у зрителей и критиков фильм, считается классикой. В «Великих Буддах» Фрай снова обращается к максимально актуальному событию: расстрелу двух гигантских статуй Будды в отдаленной долине Бамиан в Афганистане. «Для меня этот фильм – гимн плюрализму мнений, религий и культур», – говорит режиссер. На кинофестивале Сандэнс Кристиан Фрай выиграл приз лучшему режиссеру за «Космических туристов» (2009). Критики хвалили этот фильм за его захватывающий изобразительный ряд и богатство идей, укрепив репутацию Фрая как одного из самых оригинальных и изобретательных режиссеров. В 2014 году на фестивале в Нионе состоялась премьера фильма «Нью-йоркская бессонница». Фрай погружается в безумные ночи трех недавно отвергнутых влюбленных. Биоантрополог Хелен Фишер рассказывает о поразительных процессах, которые разворачиваются в мозгу тех, кто страдает от неразделенной любви. В настоящее время Фрай заканчивает новый документальный проект «Генезис 2.0» в сотрудничестве с якутским режиссером Максимом Арбугаевым. Фильм будет посвящен охотникам за останками мамонтов и генетикам.С 2006 года Кристиан Фрей читает лекции по теории обучаемости в известном Университете Санкт-Галлена. С августа 2010 года он является президентом Швейцарской киноакадемии.
 
 

АЛЕКСЕЙ ХАНЮТИН
Россия
 
Алексей Ханютин родился в Москве в 1956 году. В 1978 окончил режиссерское отделение ВГИК (мастерская Романа Кармена). После неудачного дебюта на советском телевидении (первый же снятый там фильм был изуродован цензурой) поступил в аспирантуру Института истории искусств, где защитил кандидатскую диссертацию и в течение ряда лет работал научным сотрудником. В годы Перестройки решил вернуться в режиссуру. Работал на Центральной студии документальных фильмов, где снял фильмы «Пятачок» (1987) и «ДМБ-91» (1990), имевшие большой общественный резонанс и отмеченные призами крупных международных кинофестивалей. Педагогическую деятельность начал в середине 1990-х: преподавал режиссуру на Высших режиссерских курсах, в Школе документального кино «Интерньюс», вел режиссерскую мастерскую во ВГИК. В настоящее время – руководитель факультета режиссуры кино и телевидения в Институте современного искусства (Москва), Художественный руководитель киностудии Parallax Pictures. В 2002–2005 – Президент, сейчас – вице-президент Гильдии неигрового кино и телевидения. Среди наиболее известных картин Алексея Ханютина – «Мавзолей» (1995), «Саркофаг» (2001), «Водка» (2005), «Эвакуация» (2005), «Дорога» (2007), «Возвращение имен» (2013).
 
 

 

ЮН ДЖЕРО
Республика Корея
 
Родился в Пусане, Корея, в 1980 году. Изучал классическое искусство. В 2001 году приехал во Францию, где продолжил учебу в Школе изобразительного искусства де Нэнси и ENSAD (Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Paris),где его специализацией были классическое искусство и документальное кино. В 2008 Джеро Юн поступил в Le Fresnoy. Его картина «Красная дорога» была отобрана в программы международных фестивалей в Киеве, Берлине, Бухаресте, Амьене и т. д. В 2011 «Обещание» получило Гран-при на Международном короткометражном кинофестивале Asiana (Корея). В 2012 году Джеро Юн был выбран для стажировки в программе Cinefondation Каннского кинофестивале,а его фильм «В поисках северных корейцев» был удостоен специального приза жюри фестиваля Cinema Planeta (Мексика). Следующая работа Джеро Юна «Госпожа Б. История женщины из Северной Кореи» (2016), участвовала в программе крупнейших фестивалей и была удостоена главного приза 38 ММКФ.