MAIN COMPETITION JURY

REZA MIRKARIMI
director, producer
Iran
 
Born January 28 1966 in Tehran, it was there that he studied Graphic Arts at the Fine Arts University. His directing debut was in 1987 with a short film called For Him, followed by two TV shows for young adults. His first feature film, The Child and The Soldier (1999), has won several national and international awards. In 2001 his second feature film Under the Moonlight, which deals with social and religious issues, won the Best Feature Award at the 40th Critics' Week during the Cannes International Film Festival. The film also won  Best Director as well as the Special Jury Prize at the Tokyo IFF, along with the prizes at festivals in Beirut, San Paolo and Dehli.
In 2008 his fifth film As Simple As That won the Golden St George Best Film Award at the Moscow International Film Festival. In 2016 his latest film Daughter won grand prize at the 38 MIFF , securing the Best Actor award for Farhad Aslani who played the leading role. 
Three of Mirkarimi’s films have been presented to the Oscar’s the Best Foreign Language Film by Iran:  So Close, So Far (2005), A Cube of Sugar (2011) and Today (2014). Since 2016 Reza Mirkarimi is also the festival director of the Fajr International Film Festival.
 
 

ORNELLA MUTI
actress
Italy
 
Was born in Rome. At the age of 15, she made her debut in cinema, starring in the Damiano Damiani film The Most Beautiful Wife. Her role in the Mario Monicelli film Come Home and Meet My Wife (1974) brought her international fame. After рук first roles, she was considered one of the brightest young Italian stars and in 1976 was awarded a special award by the Italian Film Academy. European directors of the 70s and 80s actively exploited the image of Muti as one of the most beautiful actresses in Italy. Her filmography counts over a hundred roles, among which films of almost all genres can be found - from criminal movies (Death of a Corrupt Man, 1977) to costume dramas (Swann in Love, 1984). The actress’ talent shown bright in comedies. The comedy duet of Ornella Muti and Adriano Celentano from the The Taming of the Scoundrel (1980) and Madly in Love (1981) enjoyed enormous popularity in the Soviet box office. On the wave of her popularity in the USSR, Muti played the main role in the Soviet-Italian film by Grigory Chukhray Life is Beautiful (1980).
That same year the American comic strip Flash Gordon was released, where the actress played the role of Princess Aura. In addition to working in commercial projects, Ornella Muti has often and successfully starred in films by directors such as Marco Ferreri, Dino Risi, Volker Schlöndorff, Francesco Rosi, James Toback, Ettore Scola, Vicente Aranda, Peter Greenaway, Woody Allen and others. She was nominated three times for an Academy Award for Tales of Ordinary Madness (1981), Me and My Sister (1987) and The Sparrow’s Fluttering (1988), and she also won an award at the Venice Film Festival and was nominated by the European Film Academy for her role  in the film Private Access (1988).
 
 
JÖRN JOHAN DONNER
director, producer
Finland
 
Born February 5 1933 in Helsinki, he is a Finnish writer, film director, actor, producer, politician, and founder of the Finnish Film Archive. Jörn Donner has for long periods lived and worked in Sweden, and has, among other things, served as director of the Swedish Film Institute (1978 - 1982). Donner has been associated with several different political parties and has at different times been a member both of the Finnish and the European Parliaments. He began working as a film critic and columnist for the Swedish broadsheet Dagens Nyheter in 1961, and the following year he published a highly acclaimed study of Ingmar Bergman films, titled Face of the Devil. Inspired by the 1963 Swedish Film Agreement, he decided to try himself in film directing. In 1963 he made his directional debut A Sunday in September, which received the Prize for best directorial debut at the Venice Film Festival. His next film - To Love – was released in 1964. Harriet Andersson, Donner's partner during the 1960s, played the lead in both films, winning a Best Actress award in Venice. The critics' ambivalence towards Donner's films remained with his works Adventure Starts Here (1965) and Rooftree (1967).The five films which followed – including Sixtynine (1969) were produced in Finland. He returned to Sweden in 1978 with a film version of Märta Tikkanen’s provocative novel Men Cannot Be Raped.
In 1982 he produced Jan Troell's The Flight of the Eagle and Ingmar Bergman's Fanny and Alexander, both of which received Oscar nominations. Donner subsequently moved back to Finland where he continued his political career. Between 1996 and 1999 he was elected by the Social Democratic Party of Finland to be in the European Parliament.
In 2009 at the Moscow International Film Festival he presented The Interrogation. His latest film Armi Alive! was shown as part of the competition during the 37 MIFF in 2015.
 
 
ALBERT SERRA
director, screenwriter, 
Spain (Catalonia)
 
Born in Banyoles in 1975, he studied Hispanic Philology and Theory of Literature in Barcelona. His directional debut was in 2003 with the film Crespià, the Film Not the Village. In 2006 he wrote, directed and produced Honor of the Knights, a peculiar version of Don Quixote, which was shown in French cinemas for almost two years and was named by Cahiers du Cinéma magazine one of the ten best films of 2006. His third feature film, Birdsong (2008) earned him a catalan Gaudí award for Best film and Directing. Serra works on his projects with production company Andergraun Films, which he owns. He visited Kamchatka to make a short documentary Russia (2007) and was also one of sixty filmmakers who contributed to Estonian anthology 60 Seconds of Solitude In Year Zero, a series of short one-minute films about the death of cinema. Albert Serra is best known for his latest films Story of My Death (2013), which won the Golden Leopard at the Locarno FF, and The Death of Louis XIV(2016), starring Jean-Pierre Léaud. Serra has been called "one of the most singular and radical filmmakers working today."
 
 

ALEXANDER ADABASHYAN
writer, actor, director, artist
 
He was born on August 10, 1945 in Moscow. Initially, the fate of Alexander Adabashyan was not connected with the cinema: in 1971 he graduated from the Moscow Higher School of Industrial Art as a metal artist. In 1970, during a summer internship, the student Adabashyan assisted an artist on the set of Nikita Mikhalkov's diploma film A Quiet Day During the End of the War and his further career as a cinema designer was also connected with the works of Nikita Mikhalkov: At Home Among Strangers, A Slave of Love, An Unfinished Piece for Mechanical Piano, A Few Days from the Life of Oblomov, Five Evenings. At the same time, in the mid-70s, Alexander Adabashyan's talents as a screenwriter and character actor were revealed. The young artist played his first small roles in At home among strangers ... and A Slave of Love, wrote his first scripts for An Unfinished Piece for Mechanical Piano, Five Evenings and A Few Days from the Life of Oblomov.
Today in the actor's filmography are fifty roles, including a memorable performance of Berlioz in the adaptation of the novel The Master and Margarita, of Barrymore in The Hound of the Baskervilles,  as well as Timofeev in Five Evenings. Real success awaited  Alexander Adabashyan as the author of over twenty screenplays, including the Transsiberian Express (1977) by director E. Urazbaev, Oci ciornie (1987), Fathers and Children (2008) by A. Smirnova (2008) and Sunstroke (2014) directed by N. Mikhalkov. Alexander Adabashyan’s  directorial debut was  Mado, poste restante  (1990), which received the special «Perspective of French Cinema",  prize of the Cannes Festival , the prize of the youth jury of the International Film Festival in Ravenna, the Fellini and Fliano Awards in Italy and a nomination for the "César" award.
 
 

BRIGITTA MANTHEY
Germany
 
Brigitta Manthey is an expert of film and advisor for film funding at Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, the major funding institution in the capital region of Berlin. She is responsible for the evaluation of national & international film projects towards funding with a focus on projects from Middle, South and Eastern Europe. Her professional responsibility comprise her board membership at the New German Film Board Foundation and at the German Ministry for Culture and the Media, her being expert at the transnational network EUREKA and the European training initiative EAVE European Producer’s Workshops as well as some relevant publications and her participation in national & international film Jurys. Brigitta Manthey is a certified script consultant and a lecturer at home and abroad, and she has developed a widely accepted international standard for a reader’s report. Previously she was a journalist and a longtime freelancer at the Drama-Department of the Berlin TVbroadcaster «Free Berlin» before heading the Film Department at the main The Literary Colloquium Berlin (LCB), where she also produced and directed documentaries. Brigitta Manthey had spent two years of her studies in the USA and graduated in American Literature, Film and Theatrical Science.

ЖЮРИ ОСНОВНОГО КОНКУРСА

РЕЗА МИРКАРИМИ
режиссер, продюсер
Иран
 
Реза Миркарими родился 28 января 1966 года в Тегеране, где окончил факультет графики Университета изобразительных искусств. Дебютировал в режиссуре в 1987 году короткометражной картиной Для него, после чего снимал молодежные сериалы. В 1999 году свет увидела его первая полнометражная картина Ребенок и солдат (1999). За эту работу Миркарими был отмечен дипломом за режиссуру на национальном кинофестивале Fajr, фильм с успехом был показан на многих международных кинофестивалях и получил несколько наград. Вторая работа Миркарими Под светом луны (2001) сделала режиссеру имя: фильм получил главный приз «Недели критики» в Каннах, две награды фестиваля в Токио, призы в Бейруте, Сан-Паулу и Дели. Картины Реза Миркарими дважды участвовали в конкурсе ММКФ, и оба раза он увозил из Москвы главный приз: в 2009 году «Золотого Св. Георгия» получил фильм Проще простого, который также был отмечен призом жюри российской критики; семь лет спустя Миркарими вновь получил главный приз 38-го ММКФ за фильм Дочь, а также приз Федерации киноклубов России и награду за лучшую актерскую игру исполнителю главной роли Фархаду Аслани. Трижды картины Миркарими выдвигались на премию Американской киноакадемии от Ирана - Так близко, так далеко (2005), Кубик сахара (2011) и Сегодня (2014). С 2016 года Реза Миркарими является директором международного кинофестиваля Fajr.
 
 
 
ОРНЕЛЛА МУТИ
актриса
Италия
 
Родилась в Риме. В 15 лет дебютировала в кино, исполнив главную роль в картине Дамиано Дамиани Самая красивая жена. Международная известность ей принесла роль в фильме Марио Моничелли Народный ро-ман (1974). После первых ролей, о ней заговорили, как об одной из самых ярких молодых итальянских звезд и в 1976 была удостоена специальной награды итальянской киноакадемии. Европейские режиссеры 70-80 активно эксплуатировали образ Мути как одной из самых красивых актрис Италии. Ее фильмография насчитывает более ста ролей, среди которых можно найти фильмы практически всех жанров - от криминальных боевиков (Смерть негодяя, 1977) до костюмных драм (Любовь Свана, 1984). Наиболее ярко талант актрисы раскрылся в комедиях. Огромной популярностью в советском прокате пользовался комедийный дуэт Орнеллы Мути и Адриано Челентано из Укрощения строптивого (1980) и Безумно влюбленного (1981). На волне популярности в СССР Мути исполнила главную роль в советско-итальянском фильме Григория Чухрая Жизнь прекрасна (1980). 
В том же году в американский прокат вышел комикс Флеш Гордон, где актриса сыграла роль принцессы Ауры. Помимо работы в коммерческих проектах, Орнелла Мути много и успешно снималась в картинах таких авторов, как Марко Феррери, Дино Ризи, Фолкер Шлендорф, Франческо Рози, Джеймс Тобак, Этторе Скола, Висенте Аранда, Питер Гринуэй, Вуди Аллен и др. Она трижды номинировалась премию итальянской киноакадемии за роли в картинах История обыкновенного безумия (1981), Я и моя сестра (1987) и Шелест воробьиных крыльев (1988), а также была удостоена награды Венецианского кинофестиваля и отмечена номинацией Европейской киноакадемии за роль в фильме Личный код (1988).
 
 
ЙОРН ЙОХАН ДОННЕР
режиссер, продюсер
Финляндия
 
Будущий финский режиссер, актер, продюсер и политик, основатель Финского киноархива родился 5 февраля 1933 года в Хельсинки. Долгое время жил и работал в Швеции, с 1978 по 1982 год занимал должность директора Шведского киноинститута. В начале карьеры работал кинокритиком и  колумнистом в крупнейшей газете Швеции «Дагенс Нюхетер», в 1962 году опубликовал исследование на тему творчества Ингмара Бергмана, которое получило название «Лицо дьявола». Благодаря реформам 1963 года и появлению Шведского киноинститута у Доннера появилась возможность попробовать себя в кинорежиссуре. Его картина Воскресенье в сентябре (1963) была удостоена награды за лучший режиссерский дебют на Венецианском кинофестивале. Еще больший успех сопутствовал следующей работе - картине К любви (1964), за роль в которой актриса Харриет Андерсон была удостоена награды Венецианского кинофестиваля. Последующие фильмы Приключения начинаются здесь (1965) и Без крыши (1967) были неоднозначно приняты в Швеции, после чего Доннер снял пять фильмов, среди которых Шестьдесят девять (1969), в Финляндии. Он триумфально вернулся в Швецию десять лет спустя с экранизацией провокационного романа Марты Тикканен Мужчин нельзя изнасиловать и в том же году занял пост директора Шведского киноинститута. В 1982 году Доннер спродюсировал картину Яна Троэля Полет орла, а год спустя – Фанни и Александра Ингмара Бергмана. Оба фильма были номинированы на «Оскар», а фильм Бергмана получил четыре награды Американской киноакадемии. Покинув пост директора, Доннер вернулся в Финляндию, где активно занялся литературой и политикой. С 1996 по 1999 годы был депутатом Европейского парламента от Социал-демократической партии Финляндии. В 2009 году в программе «Русский след» ММКФ состоялась мировая премьера картины Допрос. Его последняя на сегодняшний день режиссерская работа Арми жива! (2015) была представлена в конкурсе 37-го ММКФ.
 
 
АЛЬБЕРТ СЕРРА 
режиссер, сценарист
Испания (Каталония)
 
Родился 31 марта 1975 года в Баньолесе, Каталония. Изучал филологию и теорию литературы в Барселонском университете. Его дебютом в кино стала картина Креспия. Фильм, а не деревня (2003). Широкую известность ему принес второй фильм - Честь рыцаря (2006), вариация на тему Дон Кихота. Картина была удостоена множества наград, среди которых три премии Туринского кинофестиваля и две награды кинофестиваля в Барселоне. На протяжении двух лет фильм демонстрировался во французском кинопрокате и был удостоен звания одной из лучших кинокартин года по версии журнала Cahiers du Cinéma. Фильм Птичья песня (2008) принес Серра награды «Гауди» за лучший фильм на каталонском языке и лучшую режиссуру, закрепив за ним звание одного из наиболее талантливых молодых режиссеров Испании. Альберт Серра основал кинокомпанию Andergraun Films, которая обеспечивает его независимость в ведении собственных проектов. В 2007 году он путешествовал по Камчатке, чтобы снять короткометражный фильм Россия, и в числе 60 кинорежиссеров участвовал в съемках эстонской антологии 60 секунд одиночества в нулевом году (2010) на тему смерти кинематографа. Смерть также стала основной темой двух его наиболее известных картин - История моей смерти (2013), за которую он получил «Золотого Леопарда» на кинофестивале в Локарно, и Смерть Людовика XIV. Альберт Серра - любимец киноманов и фестивальной публики, его причисляют к числу наиболее необычных и самобытных режиссеров современного кино.
 
 
АЛЕКСАНДР АДАБАШЬЯН
кинодраматург, актер, режиссер, художник
 
Родился 10 августа 1945 года в Москве. Изначально судьба Александра Адабашьяна не была связана с кинематографом: в 1971 году он окончил Московское высшее художественно-промышленное училище в качестве художника по металлу. В 1970 году во время летней практики студент Адабашьян ассистировал художнику на съемочной площадке дипломного фильма Никиты Михалкова «Спокойный день в конце войны», дальнейшая его карьера в качестве художника кино оказалась также связана с кинематографом Никиты Михалкова: «Свой среди чужих, чужой среди своих», «Раба любви», «Неоконченная пьеса для механического пианино», «Несколько дней из жизни И.И. Обломова», «Пять вечеров». Тогда же, в середине 70-х, раскрылся талант Александра Адабашьяна как сценариста и характерного актера. Первые небольшие роли молодой художник сыграл в «Свой среди чужих...» и «Рабе любви», первые сценарии написал для «Неоконченной пьесы для механического пианино», «Пяти вечеров» и «Нескольких дней из жизни И.И. Обломова».
Сегодня в актерской фильмографии Александра Адабашьяна – полсотни ролей, в том числе запомнившиеся зрителям Берлиоз в экранизации «Мастера и Маргариты», Бэрримор в «Собаке Баскервилей», Тимофеев в «Пяти вечерах». Настоящий успех ждал Александра Адабашьяна в качестве автора, по сценариям которого поставлены более двадцати фильмов, в том числе «Транссибирский экспресс» (1977) Э. Уразбаева, «Очи чёрные» (1987), «Отцы и дети» (2008) А. Смирновой и «Солнечный удар» (2014) Н. Михалкова,. Высоко был оценен режиссерский дебют Александра Адабашьяна – «Мадо, до востребования» (1990), получивший специальный приз Каннского фестиваля «Перспектива французского кино», приз молодежного жюри МКФ в Равенне, премии имени Феллини и Флайано в Италии и номинацию на премию «Сезар».
 
 
БРИГИТТА МАНТЕЙ
Германия
 
Бригитта Мантей – советник по вопросам финансирования кино в фонде поддержки кинематографа Берлина и земли Бранденбург. Она отвечает за оценку национальных и международных кинопроектов из Восточной Европы. Бригитта Мантей является действующим членом кинофонда New German Film Board и членом совета по кино в Министерстве культуры и средств массовой информации Германии. А по совместительству также экспертом транснациональной сети EUREKA и членом европейской организации продюсерских семинаров EAVE European Producer’s Workshops. Ее авторству принадлежит ряд публикаций по вопросам экономической поддержки кинематографии. Бригитта Мантей является сертифицированным сценарным консультантом и преподавателем. Проучившись два года в США, она получила образование по специальностям Американская литература, киноведение и театроведение. Будучи журналисткой, писала сценарии для программ канала «Свободный Берлин», а затем возглавляла кинопроизводственный отдел Литературного Коллоквиума Берлина (LCB).