EUPHORIA OF THE FRINGES

 
The title of the program will probably surprise some people and even offend others. When we invited movies from Romania, Hungary, Poland, Bulgaria and Finland we unwittingly placed Eastern Europe in opposition to its more serene and prosperous Western neighbor. 
 
This is not merely historical truth, but artistic truth as well. The cinema of the “fringes” differs drastically from the legacy of the classic European countries like France, Italy, Germany. Once Andrzej Wajda summed up this difference when he said that all his life Bergman was making movies about man and woman while he was shooting films about young ladies and lancers.
 
The history of Eastern Europe (which is called Central Europe nowadays) is a cruel and dramatic history of the fringes of European civilization. It is no accident that two films called “Fringes” appeared in Russia, the farthest of the “fringe” territories. They were directed by Boris Barnet (1933) and Pyotr Lutsik (1998) and were both remarkable. The aesthetics of the outskirts is special, it acquires new meaning and significance at the time of globalism and migration. Such states as Portugal or Iceland situated in the outer regions of Europe, can become “fringe countries”.
 
The program offers works by outstanding directors – Aki Kaurismaki, Ildiko Enyedi, Agnieszka Holland as well  as Andrzej Wajda’s last film “Afterimage”. It presents samples of the developing Romanian and Bulgarian schools. These diverse films have a common mental and emotional stance, which we have called “euphoria of the fringes”.

ЭЙФОРИЯ ОКРАИНЫ

 
Название этой программы может кого-то удивить, кого-то – даже обидеть. 
 
Собрав фильмы из Румынии, Венгрии, Польши, Болгарии и Финляндии, мы невольно противопоставили Восточную Европу ее более благополучной и процветающей соседке – Европе Западной. В этом, однако, есть не только историческая, но и художественная правда. Кино этих «окраин» кардинально отличается от того, что принес кинематограф классических европейских стран – Франции, Италии, Германии. В свое время эту разницу сформулировал Анджей Вайда, сказав, что Бергман всю жизнь снимал кино про мужчину и женщину, а он сам – про улана и барышню. 
 
История Восточной Европы (которую теперь предпочитают назвать Центральной) – это жестокая и драматичная история окраин европейской цивилизации. Не случайно в России – самой дальней из этих пограничных территорий – появилось два фильма под названием «Окраина»: один снят Борисом Барнетом (1933), второй – Петром Луциком (1998), и оба прекрасные. Эстетика края – это особая эстетика, которая приобретает новый смысл и значение в эпоху глобализма и нового переселения народов. И тут в роли «окраины» могут выступать и такие страны, как Португалия или Исландия, расположившиеся на периферии Европы.
 
В программе собраны фильмы выдающихся режиссеров – Аки Каурисмяки, Илдико Энеди, Агнешки Холланд, здесь же – последняя картина Вайды «Послеобразы». Представлены и образцы набирающих обороты румынской и болгарской школ. Эти очень разные фильмы объединяет особенный ментальный и эмоциональный настрой – то, что мы назвали «эйфорией окраины».
 
Андрей Плахов